My horses

"Skittles"
My School Master

Steele Skittles is my first horse.  I have owned him for 17 years now.  Skittles taught me to ride and he taught 11 little girls and my son to ride.  He retired from show biz a few years ago when he started complaining that the jumps were too big.  I brought Skittles home to relax in my pasture, but he stayed in shape in my ring and on the trails.  He is 30 now.   I thought I was going to have to retire him completely last year when he got a limp in a back foot, but after three months off, the lameness disappeared.  Now we are back to trail riding and doing fun stuff.  Skittles does not like it when Windy goes on the trailer and leaves him.  Let me know if you would like to ride with us.  It would be an easy pace…

About A Cain

I am originally from New York State and moved to Pennsylvania for college and graduate school. My husband and I later lived in California and West Virginia, and then we were transferred to North Carolina. I learned to ride as an adult, in North Carolina. I have two horses now: one wild-and-wooly teenager who is learning from me, and one former race horse that has turned into a school master for me. They are both pretty sensible and great on trails, so we go everywhere. They live with me on my own North Carolina mini farm. I love to sit on my deck in the evening and watch them graze.
This entry was posted in Horses. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

