Termites at your horse farm

Termites on your Horse Farm

Chewing termites

Creeping termites

Most of the time I think of termites as little white crawling things.  However when the air is moist, as in the spingtime, they swarm and look like elongated ants with extra-long wings.

Termite swarmer

Termite swarmer

The first time I saw a swarm was inside an office condo made of brick and steel.  On your farm you could find them anywhere.  (They need moist air to keep from dehydrating, so I don’t know why they were in the air-conditioned condo.)

I have seen articles that say you can kill them with a bug zapper or vacuum them up and spray them with a pesticide.  If they were swarming on my farm I would get a pest control firm out promptly, because by the time a colony swarms, it is two to three years old!  That means they are chewing on something on your horse farm.  (It could be your barn, your house, your fences, or they could have come out of the woods.)

North Carolina is one of the top ten state for termites to live in.  That’s a dubious distinction that makes termites a threat to our structures and fences.  Keep an eye out!

Here is a link to another article on termites from Cleggs Exterminating Company: http://cleggs.com/what-you-need-to-know-about-termites/?utm_source=July+2013&utm_campaign=July+2013+Enews&utm_medium=email

About A Cain

I am originally from New York State and moved to Pennsylvania for college and graduate school. My husband and I later lived in California and West Virginia, and then we were transferred to North Carolina. I learned to ride as an adult, in North Carolina. I have two horses now: one wild-and-wooly teenager who is learning from me, and one former race horse that has turned into a school master for me. They are both pretty sensible and great on trails, so we go everywhere. They live with me on my own North Carolina mini farm. I love to sit on my deck in the evening and watch them graze.
Image | This entry was posted in General, Home tips, Horse Farms and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

