Horse farm safety

 

 

Fire extinguishers

If you are like most horse farm owners, you are always on the lookout for popped nails or splintering boards that could pierce your horses skin.  (Horses just aren’t tough on the outside like cows are.)  But every so often you need to look at the other safety issues which come up in the barn.

Many horse farm owners in North Carolina put a fire extinguisher in the barn.  I see them when I show properties and sometimes see they are covered with dust and spider webs; they look like they have not been touched in years.

Fire extinguishers lose pressure and need to be serviced occasionally.  Take a look at the expiration date.  Clean off the cobwebs and dust.  Keep it in an accessible location that you can grab it if you ever need it.  And most importantly, make sure you know how to use it.

If you would like to look for a central North Carolina horse farm with an agent who owns and keeps horses,  email me at annecain@kw.com.  You can also call me, if that is more convenient, at 919-303-3588.  Check out North Carolina horse farms at http://apexhomesforsale.kwrealty.com/.

 

About A Cain

I am originally from New York State and moved to Pennsylvania for college and graduate school. My husband and I later lived in California and West Virginia, and then we were transferred to North Carolina. I learned to ride as an adult, in North Carolina. I have two horses now: one wild-and-wooly teenager who is learning from me, and one former race horse that has turned into a school master for me. They are both pretty sensible and great on trails, so we go everywhere. They live with me on my own North Carolina mini farm. I love to sit on my deck in the evening and watch them graze.
This entry was posted in General, Home tips, Horse Farms, Horse health, Horse tips, Horses, Safety and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

