Blanketing Your Horse

I am a horse farm owner in Apex, North Carolina, and I as the leaves are falling I am starting to think about winter blanketing .  I don’t clip my horses.  I have always felt that they can keep themselves warm if I provide shelter and plenty of food in cold, wet times.  That’s not to say a blanket doesn’t help in the dead of winter or to keep them dry when they want to go out.

Now that my thoroughbred is aging, I am starting to have trouble keeping the weight on him.   I am thinking about a few more layers for him.  I have my blankets ready.  Here is a link to a good article on blanketing.

Blanketing your horse

I probably won’t do too much different this winter, but I sure don’t want him to drop weight.

If you are looking to buy or sell a horse farm in central North Carolina, I can help.  Contact me at Annecain@kw.com.

About A Cain

I am originally from New York State and moved to Pennsylvania for college and graduate school. My husband and I later lived in California and West Virginia, and then we were transferred to North Carolina. I learned to ride as an adult, in North Carolina. I have two horses now: one wild-and-wooly teenager who is learning from me, and one former race horse that has turned into a school master for me. They are both pretty sensible and great on trails, so we go everywhere. They live with me on my own North Carolina mini farm. I love to sit on my deck in the evening and watch them graze.
This entry was posted in General, Horse health, Horse tips, Horses. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

